Is Amazon SES still free?
Trial only Only as a trial. The vendor's public page listed a free trial for Amazon SES and no permanent free tier on 2026-10-05.
There is no standing free email allowance on the pricing page; new AWS customers get up to $200 in Free Tier credits that can be spent on SES within 12 months.
Free tier limits and listed figures
| Item | Value on the vendor page |
|---|---|
| AWS Free Tier credits (new customers) | up to $200 |
| Credit validity | 12 months from account creation |
| Outbound email price | $0.10 per 1,000 emails |
| Free emails per month | not stated by the vendor |
Card and commercial use
- Credit card required
- not stated by the vendor
- Commercial use allowed
- not stated by the vendor
Gotchas
- Free Tier credits must be used within 12 months of the account creation date
- The credits are shared with other eligible AWS services
- After the credits, outbound email is billed at $0.10 per 1,000 emails
Recent change
Pricing page: new SES accounts and account-region combinations with no metered SES activity since June 1, 2025 start on the Essentials plan beginning July 21, 2026.
Alternatives to compare
- Is Resend still free? Yes
- Is Mailgun still free? Yes
- Is Twilio SendGrid still free? Trial only
More in this category: Email.
Source
Vendor page read by software on 2026-10-05, written out as text so you can copy it into your browser:
https://aws.amazon.com/ses/pricing/